Wild Dice and Staff Orders

Questions

We played a larger game on Monday night. 8 command dice on each side. US troops versus Germans. Four of us played which included 3 new to the game. It was a terrific game. they all commented about how well it played.

 

 

Question 1

I was a bit unsure as to how we could use Wild Dice.

A. Create a larger dice chain but can we add two or more Wild dice to do this?

B. Can we create a dice chain of wild dice only to any number?

C. When adding to a combat, Reaction or Rally again only a single Wild dice or multiple?

Question 2

When reserves arrive having moved three moves can they fire? Same for units rallied in same turn?

Question 3

There is no benefit in mortars on table using direct fire. Correct? They can still opportunity fire without direct by using a spotter? I thought they might have needed direct LOS to opportunity fire.

Question 4

Can a staff order be used to disengage a unit during opponent’s Opportunity fire?

Answer 1

Wild Dice are restricted to one usage per action. With three Wild Dice you could use one to add to a Dice Chain, use another to add to the Unit’s reaction Dice, and the third to add to its shooting dice. You can, however, double up Wild Dice with Staff Orders and therefore play 2 Dice per action.

A. Only one dice can be added to increase the size of a Dice Chain.

B. You’re free to use as many Wild Dice to create a Wild Dice only Dice Chaint.

C. Only one Wild Dice can be added (but you can use a Staff Order as well).

Answer 2

Reserves may fire at the end of their move. They are subject to the -1D penalty for a double move and the -2D penalty for a triple move. Units under Blinds cannot fire after moving, even if they are spotted. They may use Opportunity Fire later in the turn by deploying out of the Blind.

Units which rally cannot fire as part of the rally activation, but they may use Opportunity Fire later in the turn.

Answer 3

Any army that is equipped with radios may Opportunity Fire with mortars without LOS of the target providing the mortars have an unsuppressed spotter.

For simplicity, I assume that all late war armies are equipped with adequate radios. Early war armies are not so equipped and I’d also say that late war Soviets, apart from Guard units, are probably lacking radios. You could also make it a problem for the Germans as their supplies start to dry up.

So no radios equals no Op Fire without direct LOS by the mortar team.

Answer 4

No. A disengage order can only be issued during a player’s Command Pulse. By not allowing Disengage during as an Opportunity action, it gives a nice advantage to Shoot and Scoot units and Break-Off units. I did play around with more interactivity during an Opponent’s Command Pulse but decided that alternate Command Pulses handled it fairly well.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
This entry was posted in Wargame Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply