Game Set-Up for Multiple Battle Groups – Rule Change
A battle group does not have access to all of its Command Dice until it has entered all of its Reserves onto the table.
The CO may decide which units to have on the table and which ones to hold in Reserve. He may have Command Groups from any or all of battle groups present on the table, or may decide to just have Command Groups from a single battle group on on the table.
Allocating Command Dice to Reserves
Reserve units are grouped into Command Groups that match the battle group’s companies and support groups. Each Reserve Command Group is allocated one Command Dice.
For example, Max’s German infantry battle group consist of 24 units with eight Command Dice. It has three rifle companies, a weapons company, plus three support groups, for a total of seven command groups. Its artillery is held in reserve until one command group enters the table.
Active Dice Pools for Battle Groups
After Command Dice have been allocated to Reserve Command Groups, any remaining Command Dice are used to form the battle group’s Active Dice Pool.
All of a battle group’s initial Staff Orders, irrespective of the number of Command Groups on the table at the start of the game, are available to the CO.
For example, if all of Max’s infantry battle group units were used as Reserves, only one of its eight Command Dice would form its Active Dice Pool. All six of its Staff Orders would be usable by the CO.
If at the start of the game, Max deploys three rifle companies and his weapons company, he would have five Command Dice in his Active Dice Pool. Three Command Dice would be allocated to his three reserve battle groups.
When a Reserve Command Group enters the table, its Command Dice is added to the battle group’s Active Dice Pool and is available for use on subsequent turns.
One or More Deployed Command Groups
If one or more command groups are deployed on the table at the start of a game, the battle group rolls its Active Dice Pool each turn. If all of its units (excluding artillery) are held in Reserve, it doesn’t roll any Command Dice. When it enters a Command Group onto the table, it gains its Active Dice Pool (plus that unit’s Command Dice) for use in subsequent turns.