Here are the most frequently asked questions about Combat HQ. If you any questions that aren’t answered below just send me an email and I’ll get back to you.

Contact me


What formats are available for Combat HQ?

Can I Buy A PDF Version?

  • Not on its own, but purchase of the Kindle or Print version provides you a link where you can download the PDF.

I Don’t have a Kindle. Can’t I just buy the PDF from you?

  • No. However, you can get the Kindle Reader App for PC and Android here which allows you to read the rules on different devices. You’ll also be able to access the link for the PDF.

Combat HQ Questions

Questions and Answers

Multiplayer Questions


I found in the rules where any individual unit may only fire once per turn. What about movement? Can I activate a unit to move on one impulse, and then activate it again for movement on a later impulse in the same turn?

  • Units can only be activated once per turn – so they cannot be activated again in a later Command Pulse.

Troop Transports

Do infantry have transports and how are they used?

  • Assume all infantry have transport vehicles. Troops are transported into battle by truck or by moving at the double and move rapidly using Blinds and Reserve Moves.
  • Once troops are deployed, any purely transport vehicles move to the rear at no cost. That way you don’t need any vehicle models. If you do use vehicle models. then you can leave them at the drop-off point or move them to the rear/off-table.
  • If you later wanted to mount the infantry into trucks, you could deploy the transports back onto the table. I’d treat this as a Commit Reserves Order (triple move for 1 Command Dice or Staff Order).


Do you have to spot a unit before firing at it?

  • No. You only have to spot Blinds and Hidden Units. Once a unit is placed on the table it may be fired on by any enemy with LOS to it. You cannot fire on Blinds and Hidden units (except off-table artillery).

Do you have to use a Command Dice to execute a spotting die roll?

  • No. On your Command Pulse, any activated unit or Blind may make a spotting roll. This can be before or after it moves. You can increase the chances of spotting by using Command Dice. On an Enemy Command Pulse a moving Blind may be spotted – nominate one of your units or Blinds and make a spotting check. You can only make one spotting check against the Blind.

Using Command Dice for Spotting

I have noticed that on page 53 of the book, there is reference to allocating a 2 D6 Chain to a Command Group when spotting a Blind. In the example, it increases the number of D6 rolled from 4 to 6. The question is, does that ‘use up’ the Dice Chain or can you then use the 2 D6 to give the units in the Command Group a Double move?

  • The Dice Chain is used up on the spotting roll. If you had a larger Dice Chain you could issue a movement order with any remaining dice. EG you have a four Dice Chain, two are used on spotting and the other two could be used on movement.


Have I missed something? I thought the logistics Phase was before the 1st Pulse, but in the example, you give the Germans call down artillery as part of their 2nd Pulse. I thought this could only be done in defence games when artillery had pre-registered targets

The Using Staff Orders section states that Staff Orders may be used in the Logistics Phase to adjust artillery missions, and at any point after the Logistics Phase for other Staff Orders. Which means that a fire mission can be called at any point during the turn by using Staff Orders. When a fire mission is called an Artillery Response check is made. If the check is successful, the artillery fires for effect immediately. If unsuccessful, it fires for effect in the player’s next Logistics Phase. In retrospect, I think the rules would benefit from this being reiterated in the Indirect Fire section.

Also, the Logistics Phase occurs at the start of a Player’s first Command Pulse; not before it. It is not a general phase that is applied at the same time to both players. This is covered in the First Command Pulse section. The player with the first Command Pulse can always move units away from his opponent’s artillery fire (using a Dice Chain), before the opposing artillery gets to fire. His opponent may then choose to adjust the artillery fire at the start of his Logistics Phase.


What happens with a moving Blind when it is spotted?

Units in the Blind are deployed at the point that they are spotted – they do not continue moving. The deployed units may be fired at with opportunity fire.

As a moving Blind is spotted with -1TN they are spotted on 2+ at 6-12″. If you use a recon unit, they are spotted on a 1+. To push Blinds down the table, it’s best to keep them out of LOS.

Blinds are auto spotted when they are within 6” of an enemy unit or Blind. So if a Blind moves to within 6” of another Blind are both declared at the same time? & does the non-actioning player get to fire or are both Blinds prevented from firing?

  • The moving Blind cannot move so that it “spots” itself, therefore a Blind cannot move to within 6″ of any enemy.
  • The moving Blind cannot fire if spotted during its move. The enemy Blind can use opportunity fire when the other Blind is revealed.


Do mortars firing on-board role for deviation from target or are they assumed to be always on target if spotted?

  • Mortars do not deviate – just roll its dice against the target unit.

Command Pulses

If a player decides to skip a Command Pulse does he lose a Command Dice?

  • A player cannot skip a Command Pulse – a Dice Chain has to be used. A player can discard a Dice Chain instead of acting, but buying more Staff Orders or removing a suppression may be a better use of the dice.

If you decide to rally a unit or remove suppression does these each count as a Command Pulse, or can you do as many of these in a Command Pulse you wish? In other words is a Command Pulse determined by activating a Command Group to move, fire or close assault?

  • A Command Pulse is determined by using a Dice Chain. It doesn’t matter how many dice are in the Chain or how you use them – but they all have to be used this command pulse. Removing suppression is not counted as an activation, so it’s possible to remove a suppression, then activate the unit in the same or later Command Pulse. Rallying, close assaulting, and moving are counted as activations – as you can only activate a unit once per turn – you have to decide which action you want to do.
  • A Dice Chain of one dice lets me perform one action
  • A Dice Chain of five dice lets me perform five actions – these can be any combination of actions, including restocking staff orders.

I think from your previous email that what defines a Command Pulse is the use of a Dice Chain. Which could be 1, 2 or 3, etc (which may or may not include wild or staff dice). Which means that, for example, if I chose a 2-Dice Chain then I could remove suppression from one unit and then activate a Command Group of units with this unit and others. Then all the units of this Command Group each can use the command point to do one thing. Either fire/move or rally (any or all of the units in the command group) as both are different command orders. If the Dice Chain had been a 3 then if they moved and fired then any or all of the units could do a double move if they wanted to.

  • You’re fundamentally correct in your example, but it’s not such a linear sequence as you outline. You can spend your dice anywhere you like during a Command Pulse. So it’s possible to remove suppression from one unit, then issue orders to other units; Thre is no need to continue issuing orders to the same unit, but you can if you like.
  • Each dice in a Command Pulse can be used to do different things.With three dice, you could activate three separate command groups and have them each perform a single move. Or, you could activate one Command Group and have it move three times. Or, have one command group make a double move, and another make a single move.
  • Command Pulses are very flexible – how much you can do each pulse depends on the size of your Dice Chain plus any Staff Orders. Dice are used one after another so you finish using one dice before using another. In the case of a double or triple move, you use all of the dice needed for the move (2 or 3) before using another dice.


On page 25 of the PDF (Activation Restrictions), the first sentence implies that a unit can be active in more than one command pulse. I thought that a unit and hence Command Group could only be active once per game turn. Unless you mean that it can be active for different orders in the same game-turn. In which case I would assume that only means moving/firing/close assaulting/disengaging (all one type because they all involve movement in some form) or rallying.

  • Removing Suppression does not count as an action. Other orders do. You can only activate a unit or command group once, but you can Remove Suppression, then activate it.

How do I use 6s if I don’t store them as Staff Orders or use them as Wild Dice?

  • If you can’t store 6s as Staff Orders, you need to play them as a Dice Chain consisting of 6s. Depending on how the dice have rolled for each player, you may or may not have a Dice Chain to use after your opponent has used all of his.

Can you use a Wild Dice to create a single dice Dice-Chain and then add to it with further Staff Order or Wild Dice to create a longer Dice Chain?

  • No. Playing a Wild Dice as a single Dice Chain commits you to using all of the Wild Dice as part of the Chain. You can always use Staff Orders to add to any Dice Chain. You’re usually better off using your 2, 3,4, & 5 dice to create your Dice Chains. Only when you only have 6s left do you have to use them as a Dice Chain.


Why is there no alteration to the FP/AT dice or TN if a unit is disrupted once or twice?

  • I used this system at first, but then decided that suppression covered adequately handled the morale effects on combat. Although being disrupted will have an affect on a unit, I decided that the important issue was whether the unit could retain its will to fight. Until a unit is Dispersed it is considered to fight to the best of its training/abilities. But you do run the risk of it being Dispersed if you don’t pull it back and rally it.
  • If you want to use disruption as a modifier, I suggest deducting a dice for each level of disruption, but keep the TN the same.

Command Failures

Command Failures cancels existing artillery missions and disallows an army from committing reserves this turn, does it also prevent new Artillery missions that turn?

  • No. New artillery missions can be called this turn, but only for batteries that have not just been cancelled by the Command Failure. But, if both players roll a command failure, the turn is skipped.

Command Orders

In the example it says that if you use a 3 Dice Chain then there are fewer orders for other Command gGroups. This implies that you can use as few or as many dice in a Dice cChain and the left over dice can be used elsewhere for other Command Groups.

  • Yes, that’s correct. A Dice Chain is an opportunity to act. You can use it on multiple units and Command Groups, or on just one Command Group. You may also use a Dice Chain to restock Staff Orders.


When you do a double and triple move can you confirm that the move distance is 2x base + 2 variable, and 3x base + 3 variable, respectively for non-fast movers?

  • Yes. Infantry would move 3“+1d6” on a single move. 6“+2D6” for a double move, 9“+3D6” for a triple move.

When one dismounts you must spend a Command Dice to do so, but mounting does not require that additional Command Dice. Is this correct?

  • Mounting and dismounting costs infantry their Fixed Move; they still get their Variable Move. One dice in the Dice Chain must be assigned to the mount/dismount move. The others can be used for infantry or vehicle moves. Looking at the rules as written, it could be presented a bit more clearly. It pretty much works the same as crossing obstacles/entering buildings.
  • When you dismount infantry from transport, it could create a group of more than the number required for a Command Group. Does this restriction on the size of a Command Group come into effect immediately the passengers dismounts (and therefore the need to plan for the dismount), or is the restriction waived until the next time a Command Group is activated?
  • Command Dice are used to activate the entire group. The larger group only comes into effect next turn and would require two separate activations.

I think the example under “Mounting Units into Vehicles” needs a bit of reworking. If the infantry are 5” of the vehicle, surely then need to role anything except a one to reach their vehicles?

  • No. They only get their Variable Move so a roll of 1–4 leaves them short of the vehicle.

Each unit independently rolls its random movement (although at the speed of the slowest unit) and all must end up within 6” of the Command unit. Is this correct?

  • No. Only one roll is made for the command group. So all units in the group move the same distance. So as they started within 6” of the leader, they should end withing 6” of him. A player is not allowed to “break command” when moving. It can, however, be done by issuing separate movement orders.
  • For example, a Sherman tank is advancing with three US rifle platoons. As the rifles move at 3+1D, the whole command group moves at this speed. A 4 is rolled and added to the 3 for a total move of 7”. All units move 7”.
  • Any unit which breaks down is left behind. The rest of the command group moves its full distance.

Disruptions on Blinds

How many disruptions can a Blind take before it is dispersed, or does it keep taking the disruptions until all the units it holds are dispersed? I would have thought this might be important as once units are dispersed this will impact their morale level.

  • Excellent point. Not one that I’d considered. A Blind that takes 4 Disruptions must deploy its units onto the table (divide the Disruptions between the deployed units as evenly as possible). They have been so severely hit by artillery they lose their ability to move as part of a Blind.


When a unit is forced back while in buildings and cover you ignore the first suppression result. I presume by using “buildings and cover” you mean “medium” cover or better?

  • No, I would allow any unit to stay in its cover whether its light. medium or heavy.

If a unit is in two types of cover (i.e. dug in within hedges) is the cover cumulative (i.e. +1D for light cover & +2D for medium cover) or does the unit count the best cover (i.e. only the +2 for being in medium cover trenches).

  • Only apply the best cover dice. So the +2D for medium cover.


There is nothing mentioned about rallying if under artillery fire. We decided that as artillery fire counts for the whole turn that if a unit in the affected area wishes to rally it counts as is under having enemy within 6” & therefore requires a 6 to succeed.

  • That’s right. I’d rather Disengage or move away from the artillery, then use Command Dice to rally the potentially unralliable!

Target Priorities

Units must always fire on the nearest enemy unit and cannot pick out an individual unit within a group if there are nearer units (also if the target is in cover the owning player can choose which unit is the nearest target). In both your examples in the rules the target groups are either all infantry or all AFV would the same case be if two infantry units were ahead of a unit of tanks and the firing unit was an anti-tank gun, it just that I can see it being argued that a specialist A/T weapon should not be forced to fire on infantry when there is a tank around.

  • I’ve just checked the rulebook and found that this section is missing! I know I wrote it so God knows where it went to! Here’s what I had:
  • Tanks priortize tanks.
  • ATGs priortize tanks. Infantry priortize infantry. Infantry with AT weapons can choose whether to fire on tanks of infantry.

Target Priority by Command Group

Also it this target priority by command group or for the turn. i.e. the first command comes up with 3 units and fires one at each of three targets, when the next command group comes up do they have to go through the same process before they can target the chosen unit? My understanding is that it is calculated on a command group basis but I have heard it discussed otherwise.

  • It’s on a Command Group by Command Group basis.